Writing Is Its Own Reward

I woke up today wanting to write, just write. After weeks of research and writing, I didn’t want to write another word on my project. There is so much on my mind that I thought a diversion from academic writing would erase the adrenaline rush I get from framing words.

I saw a movie several years ago about a white (messiah type) teacher at an urban school who introduces the students to poetry, and of course, restores their interest in education.  All of this was done at the indignation of the African American principal, white staff, and unsympathetic African American parents.  The movie was forgettable but there was one memorable line.  A student asked about the reward for writing poetry; the response was “writing is its own reward.”

Today, I need the reward of writing not necessarily the substance but the joy of putting words together.    My thoughts are everywhere.  For weeks I wanted to write about every significant newsworthy incident.  I am slow and don’t always have the words at the precise time. So I missed the timing of some of them. What would I write about?

All I knew today was I woke up with the desire to write something other than my response to research.  Since I have not blogged for months, it would have to be serious and profound, I thought.  Then I remember at the family reunion a niece mentioned that she was reluctant to tell us about a movie she had seen because it was stupid.  The movie was Pitch Perfect a sweet movie full of clichés with a predictable plot. Others and I chimed in how we like the movie and began to share our favorite parts.  Yet, the point had been made.  The very thing that enabled us to relax and release stress was almost set aside because it did not meet an artificial standard of “serious.”

As the family dialogue about the “so called” stupid things we enjoyed, the discussion was a gentle reminder that despite all of the endless expectations; everything we say won’t be a profound philosophical factor.  Every blog, posting or timeline doesn’t make us Facebook sages, or prophetic wonders.  There are times we just write, just do and just live.  We do not have to apologize for enjoying life in our own ways.  For like writing; life is its own reward. There is so much to say so today I felt like writing, and I did.  

Enjoy your day…

Published by annehenningbyfield

Anne Henning Byfield is one who dares to Live, Learn and Lead. She lives a life filled with creativity and passion as a preacher, presiding elder, psalmist, a poet, motivational speaker, spoken word artist, strategic consultant, writer, composer, wife, mother, and grandmother. Known for her unique brand of leadership, presentation style, humor, and passion for living; annehenningbyfield leads by example, inspires, and develops others to lead their best lives. Married for 46 years, they have one son and four grandchildren. She is a Bishop of the AME Church, 13th Episcopal District, and Chancellor of Wilberforce University.

Leave a comment